SHM Weekly Charge_2013 Week 04_Financial Freedom – Before You Spend, Earn.

Debt Free, 2FINANCIAL FREEDOM 101 – BEFORE YOU SPEND, EARN!

Reading Text: Luke 14 verse 28.

It was an economist who theorized that the needs of man are insatiable. Meaning? Man’s thirst for acquisition is difficult to curb; ‘difficult’, not ‘impossible’. I know from personal experience and research that many have eaten (i.e. spent) themselves out of fortunes – and it is my fervent prayer that you, my dear friend, would avoid this pitfall this New Year.

A while back, while researching for a book, I decided to try on an empirical level a habit that my biological father taught me many years back – to keep tab of every of my expense, even the most minute in terms of amount. I had not done this faithfully since he and I had that chat about financial freedom when I was getting married. But now I kept all receipts, made notes of all expenses not normally receipted – everything including cash gifts to others. My discovery knocked a lot of sense into me. In the space of three (3) months, and on expenditure that had nothing to do with housekeeping, education or even parental care, I had spent money enough to buy a small car! Bear in mind please that I live in a cultural environment where friends, relatives and even casual acquaintances EXPECT you to help out financially, which although is biblical, but often carried utilized for extraneous needs. I will give a quick example – a friend or relative would announce a party and EXPECT that you have to buy celebratory clothing (called Aso Ebi in my local language), or even contribute to the expenses of the celebrations! I am sure you have other examples!

So, my wife and I decided that we will stop spending another kobo (unit of Nigerian currency) upon non-essentials without earning at least 10 times the amount! The impact was IMMEDIATE. First, our savings grew exponentially. Second, it immediately reduced our circle of ‘friends’! Third, we became happier as we were able to meet without effort all Godly expectations of us as His children, spouse, parents and ministers of the gospel.

This year, I charge you dear friends to earn before you spend; maybe not with my own formular above, but with a ratio you seem comfortable with. If it does nothing else for you, I am positive it will improve your savings and give you a better chance of financial freedom. This in itself will bring you peace of mind. As the Lord Jesus Christ advises in our chosen text, count the cost before you embark on any financial commitment. Many of us go through life spending ourselves out of a fortune because we are keen on keeping appearances. See, whatever a man thinks about you is their opinion, pure and simple! It is what the Lord thinks about you that ultimately matters.

I see financial freedom in your horizon. I see you being able to meet your godly expectations without stress; and I see your life expectancy increase as a result thereof. I see you being of more value to your family and society as you earn before you spend.

P.S.: For the month of February 2013, our weekly charges to you shall be on HOW TO BE BETTER AT YOUR JOB/BUSINESS/ACADEMICS in 2013. Please keep a date with us, and encourage your friends to also. You are created to excel, and excel you shall IJMN. Have a great week ahead. God bless you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. henrygreat84@yahoo.com
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:34:10

    Thank you sir.
    Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

    Reply

Leave a Reply

